© Ana Borralho & João Galante

ANA BORRALHO & JOÃO GALANTE – There is only one life (…)

TEMPO - Teatro Municipal de Portimão
Thu 15 OCT, 10h00
Fri 16 OCT, 21h30

Target Audience: Youths from 13 up and general audience

Face to face with their audience, a group of youths proposes to speak about what it means, or what they think it means to be a “free person”. With a future that no longer promises the recognition of the old rules of a dying social system, they stand for a future they intend to claim with all their freedom.
Departing from Pablo Fidalgo Lareo’s original text, these teenagers want to swallow the world, to chew and to regurgitate, so that they can give it back to their audience, but this regurgitation process involves the development of a poison in the shape of words, created in order to think the entropic social and political system in which we all live.

Concept, Artistic Direction, Space and Light Design: Ana Borralho & João Galante
Original Text: Pablo Fidalgo Lareo
Original Sound Track: Coolgate, Pedro Augusto
Rehearsal Assistance: Tiago Gandra
Artistic Collaboration: Catarina Gonçalves, Tiago Gandra
Sound: Pedro Augusto
Performers: Group of local teenagers
Production: Andrea Sozzi
Production: casaBranca
Co-Production: Culturgest / Projecto Panos – Palcos Novos Palavras Novas (Original Text: Pablo Fidalgo Lareo, Translation: Francisco Frazão)
Support: TEMPO – Teatro Municipal de Portimão, Junta de Freguesia de Portimão, Câmara Municipal de Lagos, Espaço Jovem, LAC – Laboratório de Actividades Criativas, Culturgest, TEL – Teatro Experimental de Lagos
Thanks: Mário Filipe, Joana Melo, Sandro William Junqueira

Ana Borralho & João Galante met each other while studying visual arts at AR.CO. They have been working together on projects of their own since 2002 on performance, dance, installation, photography, sound and video art. They are co-founders of the cultural association casaBranca.
Since 2004 their work has been shown in international festivals in Portugal, Spain, France, Switzerland, Scotland, Germany, United Arab Emirates, Brazil, Italy, UK, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Finland, Slovenia, Belgium, Poland, Greece, Iceland and Canada.